Camp Fire Wilani | Resident Camp, Day Camp, Outdoor School Provider, Teen Leadership, Service Learning, Club Programs

2022 Summer Camp Staff!


Meet Cheeto!
Hey everyone! My name is Cheeto, I’m from Richmond, Virginia and I use she/her pronouns. I currently work as a College and Career Adviser to help high school seniors figure out their next steps after graduation. In the fall, I’ll be working towards my M.Ed to become a licensed counselor. I’m a proud cat mom of two tuxedo cats named Millie and Milo. I have my own kayak and like to go out on the Rappahannock River when I can. I also like to paint, read, go to concerts, and explore the city!


Meet Yoda!
Hey! My name’s Yoda and I use she/her pronouns. I’m Nigerian but I grew up in Brunei, SouthEast Asia. Finished my high school experience in Nigeria and Northern Ireland, I am now enrolled at Purdue university pursuing a bachelors in economics. In the coming fall, I’ll be moving onto my junior year at Purdue. Fun fact about me is I enjoy playing the piano and got lessons for 8 years from ages 5-13. I look forward to meeting all of yous later in the summer.


Meet Fable!
Hi everyone, I’m Fable and I use she/hers pronouns. I’m graduating from the University of Redlands this spring. I have been working with children in summer camps and after-school settings for three years while pursuing a degree in English literature and Education. My long-term plan is to become an English teacher at the high school level, but also engage with camps during the summer months. I have worked with ages ranging from pre-K to eighth grade and learned the differences of care for each level. At Galileo Summer Camp I learned how to be an energetic, magnetic, and fun staffer. At my previous employment with ASES + YMCA, I worked with older students and learned how to communicate with this age group, engage in their interests, and learned how to be a mentor to them. I’m a proud plant mom who loves to read, bake, and engage in a bit of adventure every once in a while. Fun fact about me is that I love fairy tales, myths, and fables!


Meet Luna!
Hi, my name is Luna I use the pronouns she /her. I was raised in Calexico, California and love to eat tacos. I love to dance and sing but I am not good at either of them. I am currently a substitute teacher for Del Norte School District. Prior to this position I was the Family Engagement Liaison for Redwood Elementary as well as Smith River Elementary. In this position I helped locate students and manage attendance. I have been a substitute teacher for almost 4 years. I have finished my teaching credential program and I am working on edTPA in order to be a credentialed teacher. I know the difficulties these students face first hand since I was an English learner myself. Having this background has helped me be more compassionate, patient and understanding of the struggles students face while learning the language. I received a Bachelors of Arts in Spanish from California Polytechnic University, Pomona and also volunteered for Think Together working with bilingual elementary students. I am very excited to meet everyone and have fun!


Meet Head Cook, Iris!
Hi! I’m Iris, I use she/her pronouns. I have three years of cooking experience, and grew up on a farm where I cooked all sorts of meals for my family. I also have about 5 years of babysitting/nannying experience. I’m currently studying to become a Paramedic! A couple fun things about me: I’ve been playing the flute for nine years, and I write poetry as a hobby. I’m super excited to work at the camp! It’s something I’ve never gotten to experience before, but I love nature and meeting new people and taking care of kids, so I know it’s going to be great!


Meet Aspen!
Hi! My name is Aspen. I have five years’ experience in camp activities, and over thirteen in teaching. I am from Oregon, and I’m currently going to college there for studies in mechanical engineering. A fun fact about me is that I have been lost in the desert before! (I survived. \;) ) I enjoy biking, running, and art activities. Here’s to a wonderful summer!


Meet Sunny!
Hi! my name is Sunny! My pronouns are she/her/hers. I am a student at the University of Nevada at Las Vegas. I am set to graduate Spring of 2023 with my degree in Elementary Education. I love LOVE to read and have over 500 books in my personal library. I love being outdoors with a good book and sunshine. My favorite foods are tacos, pizza, and xxtra flamin’ hot Cheetos. I’m so excited to meet you all and go on this adventure together!


Meet Binks!
Hello! My name is Binks and I use she/they pronouns. I am from Frederick Maryland, and currently a full-time student at Montgomery College and a part-time server my local Italian restaurant. I am one day going to work in television and film… I have worked with kids aged 0-17 as a tutor, nanny, babysitter, and camp counselor! When I have free time, I love filling it with theatre, reading, painting, taking pictures, and spending time with Mother Nature. A fun fact about me is that I am a proud parent to four cheeky hermit crabs and two beautiful goldfish. I’m so excited for a wonderful summer!


Meet Indigo!
Hey y’all! My name is Indigo (she/they). I am a proud Hoosier from Indianapolis, Indiana. I spent a couple years studying Spanish Education at Indiana University, and even taught daycare for a while. Since 2020, I have been working in construction to coordinate roofing, siding, and gutter projects all over the state of Indiana. If the roof is leaking, I’m your gal! I’m really excited to get back to working outside and with kids again. I’m a total goober and love to have a great time. My hobbies include singing, crafting, raising plants (seldom successfully, I must admit lol), and being in the water. I’m PUMPED to meet y’all! Let’s have a great summer


Meet Ocean!
Hi everybody! My name’s Ocean (she, her) I live in Oregon but was born in Washington and have moved all across the United States including New York, and Pennsylvania. I go to Elmira high school and worked at Camp Wilani last summer. And let me tell you it was a BLAST. I love traveling and trying new food as well as being around new people. I love music and listening to my records. But always enjoy a good laugh with little kids. I can’t wait to meet all of you:)


Meet Star!
Hi everyone! My name is Star and my pronouns are she/her/hers. I am from Sacramento, California but I currently attend Cal Poly San Luis Obispo as a biological science major and love to spend my time at the beach. One of my favorite things to do is travel and hostel hop! I am absolutely obsessed with being active, but my preferred activity is weightlifting! I have worked three separate jobs working with kids at after-school programs and as a soccer coach and I can’t wait to gain my first experience as a summer camp counselor.

Our Promise

Young people want to shape the world.

Camp Fire provides the opportunity to find their spark, lift their voice, and discover who they are.

In Camp Fire, it begins now.

Light the fire within